TRUTH, THE - Just Can't Seem To Stop (+ Insert) LP (NEW) (M)

Product no.: TRUJUS-LP

In stock
can be shipped within 3 days

Plus delivery

The Truth came about thanks to Dennis Greaves' new vision, bringing in ex-Stowaways Mick Lister to move the music onwards with a '60s Soul vent and the two set about bringing some much-needed Modernist suss to the early and mid '80s charts.

Taking inspiration from the big Motown sound but adding a distinctive British edge, the first two singles "Confusion" and "A Step In The Right Direction" (included here) broke the Top 40. With Dennis and Mick sharing the guitar and vocals the backing band of fellow ex-Nine Below Zero bassist Brian Bethel, Gary Wallis on drums and Chris Skornia giving Mick Talbot a run for his money on Hammond they brought a post-Jam Mod crowd a new band to follow. And they did. In great numbers!

With artwork by Paul Bevoir and sleevenotes from Dave Edwards, this is a real treat for all Truth fans. The collection of tracks here are from 1983 and 1984 and can be described as the band's missing debut album. As a fan of the band since my early teens, for me they were as good as The Style Council and JoBoxers, Dexys etc who shared this soul vision... A real treat for me and Heavy Soul Records.


A1 Confusion

A2 A Step In The Right Direction

A3 Come On

A4 No Stone Unturned

A5 Sweet Sensation

A6 If You Ever Find Love

A7 2nd Time Lucky

A8 Beat Generation

B1 Love A Go Go

B2 Is There A Solution?

B3 Listen To What I Say

B4 Exception Of Love

B5 You Play With My Emotions

B6 Sweetest Feeling

B7 Just Can't Seem To Stop


Browse this category: Mod/Garage/PowerPop/Ska